Brahms and the Clarinet

Brahms and the Clarinet
Date and Time 2:30PM | Sun | 29 May 2016
VenueUtzon Room, Sydney Opera House


Cello Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007

Trio in B flat major, Op. 11

Ben Hoadley
Four Preludes (World Premiere)

Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op. 114

About The Music

Bach, Beethoven and Brahms are regarded by many as the three pillars of musical composition over the centuries. Few would know however, that Berlioz was the original third B, only to be substituted later by Brahms. There never seems to have been any doubt about the first two.

Brahms was so taken by the sensitive artistry of clarinetist Richard Mühlfeld that he came out of retirement to pen a number of works featuring the instrument. His exquisite Clarinet Trio draws out the instrument’s expressive qualities in a beautiful and touching exchange of ideas. Beethoven’s Clarinet Trio in Bb Major was similarly inspired by a well-known performer, who put in a request for a work based on a popular tune of the day. This concert also includes Bach’s immensely popular Cello Suite in G major together with a new work by Ben Hoadley titled "Four Preludes".

Pre-Concert Talk

Times, musicians and repertoire details are accurate at time of publication. We reserve the right to vary details without notice.