Fairy Tales: Schumann, Bruch and Borodin

... not a single foot wrong... distinguished playing throughout.Limelight Magazine
Fairy Tales: Schumann, Bruch and Borodin
Image: Keith Saunders

Musical tales of old and new.

Date and TimeSun 17 Jun 2018 | 2:30PM
VenueSydney Opera House
Book a subscription and save up to 30% on tickets.

About The Music

Enter a world of magical moments and refreshing musical interpretations in a celebration of music old and new. At the centrepiece of this concert is Schumann’s Fairy Tales. Composed late in life after a period of dark depression he was inspired by the young spirit of Brahms who had come to visit him and gave him the incentive to compose.

Also included is Samuel Hogarth’s brand-new Trio for clarinet, cello, and piano composed especially for Omega. Also featured are Bruch’s 8 pieces for Clarinet, Viola, and Piano. Written when he was 70 years old, these characteristic pieces are full of joy, passion and lamentation as Bruch's lush and mellow sound world of Romanticism was being replaced by a new compositional language.

Concluding this concert is Borodin’s String Quartet No.2. It was composed for his wife to celebrate their anniversary and is based on a reflection of their first meeting.

Spotify Playlist

Times, musicians and repertoire details are accurate at time of publication. We reserve the right to vary details without notice.